Computer problems :-(

Apologies for the lack of blogging for the last couple of weeks. Major computer problems here. I thought it was a dodgy graphics card, so I bought a new one. I now have a different problem, but the same result: the computer reboots itself or the screen goes blank and it needs to be rebooted. This only happens when I try to do anything important of course. Sometimes it’ll run for hours, but as soon as I try sending an important message rather than a “chat” one, it immediately locks up. Sometimes when it reboots there’s a message about the CPU speed being wrong.

So it sounds like a more serious problem than just a graphics card. Could be the motherboard, the processor, the power supply, maybe even the memory. I’m not buying replacements for all of those just so I can swap them over and see which it is. So it’s off to the repair shop on Tuesday (typical – a bank holiday just when I could do without one!) If they can’t fix it then it’s a new PC. And that means Vista I guess.

I’d rather have waited a few more months until they sort out all the problems with that – there are still too many Vista horror stories flying around. I’m crossing everything that the shop can sort it out.

Meanwhile I’m on my elderly laptop. It’s v-e-r-y- – s-l-o-w. I’ve plugged in the big screen, keyboard and mouse, and installed all the essential software, so it still sort of feels like I’m using the poorly PC. Only much much slower.

Leave a Reply

